Skip to Main Content
Excellence and Expertise

The Wrap-Up: November

Authors, Accolades, and Achievements

Several faculty members pose with their books published this year
University Libraries held the annual New Books reception in November for Miami faculty and staff who published a book in 2023
Excellence and Expertise

The Wrap-Up: November

University Libraries held the annual New Books reception in November for Miami faculty and staff who published a book in 2023

Shenyue Jia, assistant professor of Geography, is one of 14 scientists selected as a 2024 Science Communications Identities Project (SCIP) fellow. She will receive training to initiate and finish a series of science communications efforts centered around Water, the 2024 theme of the SCIP fellowship. This fellowship aims to address a significant gap in science communication research and training by centering the motivations, experiences, and priorities of racial and ethnic minority scientists. Naaborle Sackeyfio, associate professor of Global and Intercultural Studies, is among the 2023 cohort of SCIP fellows focusing on the topic of Energy. 

Amity Noltemeyer, associate dean of the Graduate School and professor of Educational Psychology, has received the 2023 Clyde V. Bartlett Distinguished Service award from the Ohio School Psychologists Association. The award recognizes recipients for outstanding services or achievement in the profession. She also co-authored a new book chapter, Systems change and program evaluation, published in “School psychology: Professional issues and practices.”

Alex Thomas, emeritus professor of Educational Psychology, received a special honor from the Ohio School Psychologists Association (OSPA). This year, OSPA's "School Psychologist of the Year Award" was renamed "The Alex Thomas School Psychologist of the Year Award.”

Dave Woods, associate professor, and Andrea Hulshult, assistant professor of Computer and Information Technology, received the Teaching Cases Best Paper Award from the Information Systems and Computing Academic Professionals for “The Agile Student Practice Project: Simulating an Agile Project in the Classroom for a Real-World Experience” this month. Woods also received the 2023 award as the Top Conference Reviewer. 

Jay Kimiecik, associate professor of Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Health, was invited to participate in the 2023 Buckeye Book Fair, which only accepts 100 authors each year. Kimiecik highlighted his new book,Exploring the Concept of Feel for Wellbeing and Performance.”

Ann Haley MacKenzie, associate professor of Teaching, Curriculum, and Educational Inquiry, has been chosen for Purdue University's College of Science Alumni Advisory Board.

Robin Vealey, professor of Sport Leadership and Management, was a featured guest on The High Performance Mindset Podcast. The episode unpacks actionable, research-backed strategies to empower coaches, leaders, and parents to elevate their confidence game. 

Caryn Neumann, teaching professor of Interdisciplinary and Communication Studies, has been named the CLAAS Achievement in Service Award winner. She has been instrumental in bringing the AURCO conference to Miami Regionals, and she has a broad and extensive record of significant service to students, the department, the division, the university, and her profession. 

Camilla McMahon, associate professor of Social and Behavioral Sciences, has been named the CLAAS Achievement in Research Award winner. Her work is in equity and inclusion in relation to perceptions of people with autism. Most of her publications and her conference presentations have been co-authored and co-presented with Miami Regionals undergraduates. Her research collaborations with Miami Regionals students demonstrate her support of her students' professional development and her commitment to the teacher-scholar model. 

Robert Applebaum, senior research scholar, Ian Matthew Nelson, research scholar, and John Bowblis, research fellow, Scripps Gerontology Center, received $519,362 from the Ohio Department of Aging for a project entitled "Generating Data to Improve Long-Term Services and Supports in Ohio."

Mark Charlton-Perkins, assistant professor of Biology, received $439,029 from Seaborough B.V. for a project entitled "The Effects of Light Wavelength on Eye Growth and Image Focus in Zebrafish."

Rachael Morgan-Kiss, professor of Microbiology, received $90,121 from the University of Colorado Boulder, pass-through funds from the National Science Foundation, for a project entitled "LTER: MCM6 - The roles of legacy and ecological connectivity in a polar desert ecosystem."

Cricket Meehan, director, Debora Robison, project administrator, and Sharon Custer, director of workforce development for the School-Based Center of Excellence, received $2,391,625 from the Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services for a project entitled "Evaluation of Center of Excellence for School-Based Prevention & Early Intervention."

Sarah Woodruff, director of the Discovery Center for Evaluation, Research, and Professional Development, received $167,018 from the Education Service Center of Northeast Ohio, with pass-through funds from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, for the project entitled "Evaluation for project titled Building Comprehensive School Mental Health Systems of Care in Northeast Ohio."

David Riggs, Ohio SBDC director in the Department of Commerce, received $25,000 from the Duke Energy Foundation for the project entitled "Small Business Assistance Grants - 2023."

Meghan Young, associate director of Opening Minds through Art, received $41,060 from the Arthur N. Rupe Foundation for a project entitled "Expanding Opening Minds through Art to Respite Services."

Stephen VanWinkle, chief of the Miami University Police Department, received $104,000 from the Ohio Emergency Management Agency, with pass-through funds from the Ohio Department of Public Safety, U.S. Department of Treasury, and the American Recovery Plan Act, for the project entitled "First Responders Grant - Wellness, Retention and Resiliency." 

Joanna Hohn, assistant director of outreach, College of Engineering and Computing, received $81,810 from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers RAPID Manufacturing Institute for a project entitled “ChemE Cube Workshop.” 

Hongmei Li, associate professor of Media, Journalism, and Film, received $120,000 from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission to support planning for Making the Invisible Visible, a collaborative digital edition on Asian histories in Ohio, including those Asian Americans and diasporic Asian communities who have made significant contributions to the state’s economy, culture, art, and education. The project is a collaboration with team members from Miami University and the University of California, Irvine, with additional Ohio universities, libraries, and museums.

Want to see your news in The Wrap-Up? Email us at