Skip to Main Content
Excellence and Expertise

Experience the “Bright Star” musical November 15-19

Miami University’s theater department is putting on its next musical in Gates-Abegglen theater from November 15-19!

Excellence and Expertise

Experience the “Bright Star” musical November 15-19

Image 2

“Bright Star,” by Edie Brickell and Steve Martin, is “inspired by a true story…it tells a sweeping tale of love and redemption set against the rich backdrop of the American South in the 1920s and ’40s. When literary editor Alice Murphy meets a young soldier just home from World War II, he awakens her longing for the child she once lost. Haunted by their unique connection, Alice sets out on a journey to understand her past—and what she finds has the power to transform both of their lives.”

All showings start at 7:30p.m., except for the closing Sunday performance, which begins at 2p.m. 

"It’s wonderful to be directing again on the Miami Oxford campus. Our production team is amazing and our cast is so, so talented. It’s going to be an excellent night of theatre," said Bekka Eaton, the director of Bright Star.

Tickets can be purchased online or by contacting the Miami Box Office 513-529-3200. The Miami Box Office, located in Nellie Craig Walker Hall, is open Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for walk-up purchases.

Season tickets are also available, with purchasers receiving a 25% discount.


Cast List

Alice Murphy | Lauren Claxton

Billy Cane | John Kushman

Jimmy Ray Dobbs | Will Rozak Mayor

Josiah Dobbs | Tod Fish

Margo Crawford | Alessandra Kelley

Mama Murphy | Liza

Dwyer Daddy Murphy | Sam Vendramin

Daddy Cane | Anders Burck

Lucy Grant | Annabel Wildermuth

Daryl | Seth Cousin

Stanford | Jobe Vogelsong

Max | Robby Mumphrey

Well Dressed Woman | Molly Stewart

Dr. Norquist | Stephen Lee

Government Clerk | Sara Rose Detwiler

Edna | Abby Sokol

Florence | Sophie

Wertz 3 Spirits | Molly Stewart, Samantha Lapp, Sophie Wertz

Ensemble: Abby Sokol, Benjamin Jones, Jobe Vogelsong, Molly Stewart, Nate Ivy, Ren Betz, Robby Mumphrey, Sam Vendramin, Samantha Lapp, Sara Rose Detwiler, Sophie Wertz, Stephen Lee