Department of Music Performances and Events

January

Guest Recital: Peter Steiner, trombone

Monday, January 29, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Master Class: Peter Steiner, trombone

Tuesday, January 30, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

  • not eligible for MUS140 credit.

February

Faculty Recital: Harvey Thurmer, violin

Sunday, February 4, 3 pm; Souers Recital Hall
Entitled "Climate Change and Fake News: Music in the Shadow of Stalin," Harvey Thurmer with accompaniment by Heather MacPhail, will perform a program to include remarks linking the musical works from 1907 to the present, illustrating the effects of Stalin's eclipse over culture.

Featured works will include:
Stravinsky - Pastorale; Prokofiev
Prokofiev - Sonata for Solo Violin and Sonata in f minor, Opus 115
Shostakovich - Four Preludes, arranged for violin and piano
Alfred Schnittke - Sonata No. 1
Rodion Shchedrin - Quasi Albeniz

CANCELLED: Faculty Recital: Siok Lian Tan, piano

Monday February 5, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Faculty Recital: Andrea Ridilla and Thomas Garcia, oboe and guitar duo

Tuesday February 6, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall
Featuring a program of music by Ibert, Villa-Lobos, Piazzolla and others.

Andrea Ridilla and Thomas Garcia began performing together as students at the Juilliard School in New York City. They were reunited in 2005 when Garcia joined the faculty at Miami. Ridilla and Garcia have performed several times in Oxford, and recently performed at the tenth RioWinds International Festival, part of the Music in the Museums series in Rio de Janeiro. The pair will soon travel to Russia to perform at the Lyceum in St. Petersburg and at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory of Music and the Gnessin Academy in Moscow. They plan to continue their collaboration at Miami and elsewhere.

Wind Ensemble and Men's Glee Club: Conference Preview

Wednesday February 7, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium

Student Recital: Karl Sissman, voice

Saturday February 10, 5:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Student Recital: Sydknee Holland, voice

Sunday February 11, 3:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Guest Recital: The Hutchins/Qiang Duo

Wednesday February 14, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Faculty Recital: Cole Tutino, cello

Sunday February 18, 3:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall
Cole Tutino, with accompaniment by Frank Huang, will perform a recital of 20th-century music for cello and piano.

Capriccio by Lukas Foss reflects the optimism of a recent immigrant from Nazi Germany to America. In the First Suite for Solo Cello by Benjamin Britten, the English composer explores the many sonic possibilities of the cello. Inspired by and dedicated to the great Russian cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, the nine-movement tour-de-force employs special playing techniques and runs the gamut of emotions. The Rachmaninoff Cello Sonata was one of the composer's first pieces to be written after a year-long, debilitating depression. Full of tuneful lyricism and passion, the work exemplifies the style for which Rachmaninoff is best loved.

Student Recital: Tiffany Turkovich, voice

Saturday February 24, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

March

Opera: Ghost Stories

Thursday-Saturday, March 1-3, 7:30 pm; Gates-Abbeglan Theater

Jazz Ensemble

Tuesday March 6, 7:30 pm; Heritage Room, Shriver Center

Chamber Singers and Collegiate Chorale

Sunday March 11, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium

Voices from the Balkans: Art songs from Bulgaria

Monday March 12, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall
The Havighurst Center for Russian and Post-Soviet Studies and the Department of Music present a recital featuring Department of Music students performing lyrical works by Bulgarian composers, highlighting Yovcho Crushev, who will present his music. Alison Acord and Ricardo Averbach will introduce the concert by explaining the mystery of the Bulgarian voices, which became an international phenomenon, attracting the attention of artists from the whole world.

Symphony Orchestra

Wednesday March 14, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 15
Yovcho Kruschev, soloist

Mahler: Symphony No. 1

Guest Recital: Svetlana Belsky, piano

Thursday March 15, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

April

Student Recital: William Ellis, voice, and Dana Kuehn, voice

Wednesday April 4, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Lorée Oboe Day

Saturday April 7, all day; Presser Hall

Guest Recital: Eric Ohlsson, oboe

Saturday April 7, 1 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Student Recital: Emily Aaron, bassoon, and Michael Larson, bassoon

Saturday April 7, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Student Recital: Morgan Shumway, voice, and Hollyn Lana, voice

Sunday April 8, 1:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Faculty Recital: Frank Huang, piano

Sunday April 8, 3 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Steel Band

Saturday April 14, 7:30 pm; Millet

Graduate Recital: Kang Ning Yong, piano

Sunday April 15 5:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Student Recital: Emily Prochaska, bassoon

Sunday April 15 3:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Percussion Ensemble

Wednesday April 18, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium

Student Recital: Naomi Latta, voice, and Rhuna Wall, voice

Saturday April 21, 3:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Student Recital: Rachel Brown, voice

Saturday April 21, 5:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Faculty Percussion Recital

Monday April 23, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Jazz Ensembles

Wednesday April 25, 7:30 pm; Heritage Room, Shriver Center

Collegiate Chorale

Friday and Saturday, April 27-28, 7:30 pm; Kumler Chapel

Student Recital: Jubilee Chen, violin, and Taylor Wallace, violin

Saturday April 28, 3:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

May

Wind Ensemble

Wednesday, May 2, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium

Men's Glee Club

Friday and Saturday, May 4-5, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium

Student Recital: Andrew Higgins, piano

Saturday May 5, 3:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Graduate Recital: Xiaotang Yuan, piano

Sunday May 6, 3:00 pm; Souers Recital Hall

Symphony Band

Tuesday, May 8, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium

Choraliers and Chamber Singers

Wednesday, May 9, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium

Symphony Orchestra

Friday, May 11, 7:30 pm; Hall Auditorium

Student Recital: Ali Rose Hotz, voice

Saturday, May 12, 7:30 pm; Souers Recital Hallm