Skip to Main Content

About the College

Our Mission

Our mission is to serve society by providing high-quality undergraduate and graduate education in engineering and computing. We are committed to creating an environment for teaching, learning, and scholarship that is intellectually stimulating, interactive, and innovative in which students, faculty, and staff realize their full potential. Our guiding principle is to provide professional education integrated with Miami University's traditional strength in liberal education.

We work continually to assess and improve teaching, learning, and critical thinking; to engage in scholarship of discovery, application, integration, and teaching; to contribute to the accumulated knowledge of the centuries through faculty and student research; to encourage creativity; and to promote the continuing intellectual growth of our community.

Thoughts from the Dean

Academic institutions that will thrive and persist through the next 100 years will look different from the institutions that have thrived and persisted in the past 100 years. The winds of change are blowing and this includes the demographic cliff, which is almost upon us, and the changing educational landscape. Institutions that adapt quickly and are nimble and agile will thrive in this new landscape.

Dean Sukumaran outside of Benton Hall

Outreach Programs

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The College of Engineering and Computing is committed to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and has been publically recognized by the American Society of Engineering Education with a Bronze level award, which is the highest level of achievement.

Industry Relations

Our company partners have access to top notch engineering students throughout their time at Miami, build their company brand on campus, and collaborate with faculty on research projects.

K-12 Outreach Programs

K-12 Outreach strives to educate and inspire a diverse group of future engineers and computer scientists through innovative thinking, problem solving, and career awareness. Our programs use real-world STEM concepts in hands-on activities to experience what it is like to be an engineer or computer scientist.

Dr. D.J. Rao working on a research project.

CEC Research

Each year, students and faculty of Miami's College of Engineering and Computing pursue research projects on the cutting edge of technology. We are dedicated to providing a superb environment for exploration and study, including state-of-the-art facilities and equipment so that our researchers can innovate in ways that will change the world for the better.

Centers and Institutes

Center for Assistive Technology

The Center for Assistive Technology is an interdisciplinary center working collaboratively with Scripps Gerontology Center as well as the Center for Social Entrepreneurship in Farmer School of Business.

Lilly Leadership Institute

The Lilly Leadership Institute is working to cultivate leaders who will flourish in their professions and lives by

  • Thinking strategically
  • Working collaboratively with others
  • Effectively communicating their ideas
  • Finding innovative solutions to society's most complex problems

Paper Science and Engineering Foundation

The Paper Science and Engineering Foundation augments the academic curriculum delivered by the Chemical, Paper, and Biomedical Engineering (CPB) Department. We provide the little things that make a big difference to the students: merit-based scholarships and key networking contacts to get great jobs.

Center for Cybersecurity

At Miami University's Center for Cybersecurity, we bring together experts from across the university, encompassing the fields of computer information technology, computer science, information systems and analytics, and political science.

Support CEC

Michael Kumler

Michael Kumler - Sr. Director of Development CEC

There are so many exciting things happening in CEC that I am confident you will find something that you have a true passion for. Please take some time to review the websites of our departments and centers. Many of these pages have direct links to online giving pages to make it as easy as possible to invest in the college’s excellence!

If you have questions about any of our programs or the best way for you to structure your gift please don’t hesitate to call or email. I would enjoy helping you explore our offerings and find what would be truly meaningful to you to support.

Take care and I look forward to hearing from you.

CEC Giving Opportunities

The College of Engineering and Computing