News RSS Feed

Dr. Don Francis leaves students inspired and motivated after lecture
Members of the Miami community were left inspired and motivated after listening to a special guest lecturer, Dr. Don Francis, who visited campus on April 14 to meet with several classes and give a stimulating address
Microbiology students win presentation awards
Two Miami University microbiology graduate students won presentation awards at the 2016 Ohio Branch of the American Society of Microbiology annual meetings held April 8-9.
Miami hosts high school outreach events to inspire careers and creativity in the sciences
CIQS Day and an honor's biology lab bring area high school students to Miami for two different days of fun and educational science experiments
CIQS Day invites area high school female students to discover STEM careers
Miami University will hold the second annual Careers Involving Quantitative Skills (CIQS, pronounced "kicks") event, a day designed to encourage female high school students to get involved in STEM fields
Biotin, Not Just a Biotech Reagent
John E. Cronan, Professor and Head of Microbiology & Professor of Biochemistry, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, will present the J.K. Bhattacharjee Distingui shed Lecture in Microbiology entitled: “Biotin, Not Just a Biotech Reagent” at 4:15 pm on Wednesday, November 11, 2015, in 218 Pearson Hall.
Apollo Astronaut Al Worden to present Maeva Metz with Astronaut Scholarship; speak about his experiences Sept. 22
Colonel Al Worden, USAF, Ret., will present senior Maeva Metz with a $10,000 scholarship and will share his experiences as the Command Module pilot for the Apollo 15 lunar mission at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 22, in Hall Auditorium.
Maeva Metz awarded Astronaut Scholarship
Maeva Metz, a senior microbiology major and molecular biology minor from Brookfield, Conn., has been awarded an Astronaut Scholarship from the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF).
Miami Hamilton faculty recognized for service and research
Four Miami University Hamilton faculty members have been recognized as 2015 Faculty Award recipients: Karen Brentley, D. J. Ferguson, Ann Rypstra and Jennifer Yamashiro.
12th Annual Neuroscience Day comes to Miami on May 29
The Ohio Miami Valley Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience will host its 12th Annual Neuroscience Day, the premier scientific neuroscience meeting in the region, on the Oxford campus of Miami University on Friday, May 29