2017 Ohio Public Leader Fellows

Ohio Public Leaders: Inside State and Local Government



The Ohio Public Leaders program provides students with a practical, co-curricular experience that enhances their understanding of the inner-workings of state and local government institutions. Students emerge prepared for success in the arena of public leadership while host organizations benefit from engaging with outstanding young talent.

The Ohio Public Leaders accepted into this program receive paid fellowships ($1,000-$5,000) and are selectively assigned to state or local government institutions or to related public or non-profit agencies throughout Ohio. The fellowships support special projects that are designed to meet the needs of partner agencies and the professional interests of Ohio Public Leaders.

With the support of the OPL Advisory Board, faculty, and professional mentors, our students may complete their Ohio Public Leader fellowship during a regular 15-week fall or spring academic semester, during a six-week Miami summer semester, or during the three-week winter session. To date, 41 Miami University students have been awarded Ohio Public Leader Fellowships.

OPL Advisory Board:

Bradley M. Bundy
Associate Vice President &
Director of Development,
Miami University
Andrew M. Dudas '05
Supervising Management Analyst,
Office of Budget & Evaluation,
City of Cincinnati
Nick A. Selvaggio '88
Champaign County
Court of Common Pleas
Megan Statt-Blake '03
Assistant Director of Community Development,
City of Wyoming
Tim Ingram
Health Commissioner,
Hamilton County Public Health
Cheryl Subler '91
Managing Directory, Policy,
County Commissioners Association of Ohio
Kim Cutlip
Executive Director,
Scioto Foundation
Dana McDaniel '87
City Manager
City of Dublin
Patrick Titterington '87
Director of Public Safety & Services,
City of Troy
Timothy S. Derickson '84
Assistant Director,
Ohio Department of Agriculture
Rick Platt '89
President and CEO,
Heath-Newark-Licking County Port Authority
J. Christopher Woolard '01
Senior Executive Director for Accountability and Continuous Improvement
Ohio Department of Education
Mike Dittoe '05
Chief of Staff
Office of Speaker, Ohio House
Karen Ryan '95
Director, Government Relations,
Convergys Corporation
Christopher D. Gilbert '00
Assistant Township Administrator,
Township of Springfield
Brent W. Centers '14
City of Franklin
Daniel G. Evers '86
Executive Director,
Clinton County Port Authority

John A. Jones '99
Police Chief
City of Oxford

Andy Shifflette '98
Legislative Liason,
Legislative and Controlling Board Section, Ohio Office of Budget and Management

Michael McNamara '98
Development Administrator
Executive Director, Butler County Port Authority
President, Butler County Land Bank

Lisa Patt McDaniel '87
Workforce Development Board of Central Ohio
Columbus, Ohio

Christopher Pozzuto
City Manager,
City of Springboro


The Ohio Public Leaders Fellowship is an initiative of the Center for Public Management and Regional Affairs housed within the Department of Political Science.

2019 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

To be announced later this fall...

2018 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

Rachel Baker Aleah Holley
Jacob Bruggeman Charles Kennick
Alex Calabro Nicole Laking
Bradley Dick Victoria Lawler
Lauren Elliott Grady McMichen
Emily Fernandez Molly O'Donnell
Ellen Florek Mira Patel
Anikka Fowler Amanda Smith
Arianna Hastings Madeline Zick

2017 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

Dylan Bentley Zachary Hazzard 
Jacob Bruggeman Deanna Krokos
Lexi Burney Nathan Mandrell
Kyle Chance Lindsey McCready
David Colston Natalie Roberts
Libby Edgar Amanda Smith
Lauren Elliott Dexter Wright
Jeff Gord

2016 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

Brian Beaudry Kyle Mortimer
Riley Cook Natalie Roberts
Libby Edwards Kevin Schrock
Addie Fries Olivia Vandervoort
Colin Greig Kelsi White

2015 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

Madison Berry Caren Kay
Haley Bodager Paige Melton
Brent Centers Ryan Muzzarelli
Jonathan Fox Kevin Schrock
Allison Hall Anna Swanson

2014 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

Alyssa Deis Alex Tirrell
Aubrey Hale Justin Waugh
Ally Kohler Blake Woodward
Tim Mangold

2013 Ohio Public Leader Fellows:

John Stefanski Laura Wojtys