Skip to Main Content
Excellence and Expertise

The Wrap-Up: June/July

Authors, Accolades, and Achievements

Geothermal well drilling rigs at MIllett South Lawn
Drilling began in June for the first of the geothermal wells in the North Geothermal Conversion project at Millett Hall south lawn. By the project's end next summer, 520 geothermal wells, 850 feet deep, will be under the lawn (photo by Jeff Sabo)
Excellence and Expertise

The Wrap-Up: June/July

Drilling began in June for the first of the geothermal wells in the North Geothermal Conversion project at Millett Hall south lawn. By the project's end next summer, 520 geothermal wells, 850 feet deep, will be under the lawn (photo by Jeff Sabo)

Katherine Setser, assistant professor of Architecture and Interior Design, has been selected by the American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) to its College of Fellows. She is one of six ASID Fellows selected by the Society’s Council of Fellows, who examine industry contributions, leadership/recognition, and service/volunteerism in the design community. They will be inducted at the organization’s national conference in August.

Wietse de Boer, Phillip R. Shriver Professor of History, has been awarded a 2024-25 National Endowment for the Humanities Long-term Fellowship at the Newberry Library. While in residence at the Newberry, he will work on his book project “The Windows of the Soul: Sensory Culture and Religious Conflict in Early Modern Italy.” The book shows how ideas about human sensation – the interface between the self and the world – were a central factor in the religious reforms and cultural conflicts that led to the end of the Italian Renaissance.  

Jazma Sutton, assistant professor of History,  has been awarded a 2024-2025 Lloyd Lewis Fellowship in American History at the Newberry Library. During her residency at the Newberry she will work on her book project “Moving toward Freedom: Black Women, Freedom, and Early Migration in Antebellum Indiana.” As the first historical survey of Black women in the antebellum Midwest, the book chronicles the lives of Black women free, enslaved, and self-liberated who chose (or were forced) to leave the South and settle in Indiana between 1787 and 1865.

Two members of the University Communications and Marketing photo and video services team won honors at the recent University Photographers’ Association of America conference. Cameron Johnson, video production supervisor, won first place in the Video Shootout for his video “The Definition of Time.” Scott Kisssell, senior photographer, won fourth place for his photo “Market Man” in the Personal Vision category of the annual Photo Competition.

Caryn Neumann, teaching professor of Interdisciplinary and Communication Studies, was one of 30 instructors to receive funding from OhioLINK to learn how to better utilize Open Educational Resources (OER) to save students money on expensive textbooks. 

Donna Evans, senior lecturer of Computer and Information Technology, received the Faculty Champion Award at the Ohio Transfer Council’s meeting in June. The council recognized her “as a transfer champion, committed to the enhancement and facilitation of policies at our institution that help to create a culture of transfer.” 

Jina Walker, senior admission counselor for the Regionals, received the Ohio Transfer Council’s New Member Award at its June conference.

Sara Arter, assistant professor of Nursing, Rhonda Cooper, Nursing faculty, and Kara Anand-Gall, instructional designer, Miami Online, received the Individual Impact award from the Quality Matters Ohio Consortium. The consortium is a community of 55 Ohio higher education institutions working collaboratively to improve student success through excellence in online education. The award was in recognition of their work bringing NSG 435, Challenges in Healthcare Delivery, online. The course is open to all majors with senior standing.

Keaka Farleigh, Ph.D. 24, received a $240,000 Postdoctoral Fellowship from the National Science Foundation for postdoctoral research at the University of Virginia. He completed his doctorate in Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology with research adviser Tereza Jezkova, associate professor of Biology.

Sheldon Anderson, professor emeritus of History, is author of “Schools for Scandal: The Dysfunctional Marriage of Division I Sports and Higher Education (Sports and American Culture)” published in May by the University of Missouri Press.

Tasha Dean, director of marketing and communications for the College of Creative Arts, was named a Rising Star Woman of Marketing by Women We Admire for 2024. 

The U.S. Department of State announced that Miami University received one of the 37 grants totaling nearly $1.3 million awarded to U.S. colleges and universities through the 2024 Increase and Diversify Education Abroad for U.S. Students (IDEAS) Program grant competition. The IDEAS grants will support the development of new international partnerships and programs, training of faculty and staff, creation of resources to engage students in study abroad, and the development of virtual and hybrid exchanges.

Katia Del Rio-Tsonis, professor of Biology, received $385,526 from the National Eye Institute for a project entitled "Upon Solving the Secrets for Lens Transdifferentiation."

Bryan Van Scoy, assistant professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received $199,996 from the National Science Foundation for a project entitled "ERI: Systematic Design of Recursive Black-Box Optimization Algorithms."

Dmitriy Garmatyuk, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received $66,307 from Baylor University, pass-through funds from Alion Science and Technology Corporation and the U.S. Department of Defense, for a project entitled "Spectrum Coexistence for SMART Hub." 

 Want to see your news in The Wrap-Up? Email us at