E. Phillips Knox Distinguished Teaching Award

Award Recipients

View the current and past award recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award and the Knox Teaching Award,

Award Recipients

Established by Miami alumnus E. Phillips Knox, a 1968 graduate, the award recognizes creative, innovative and engaging teaching methods at the undergraduate level. This award is conferred upon faculty members whose achievements unequivocally merit the recognition for excellence in teaching. Award winners receive a professional expense allocation of $3,000 in support of their teaching and for professional activities related to the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Selection Process


  • Member of the Miami faculty for a least two years; being in good standing with the department; and be recognized by students for disseminating knowledge, improving the learning experience, and being engaged with the learning experience through creative and innovative teaching methods.
  • Documented qualities of a creative and innovative educator with a demonstrated record of fostering critical thinking and engagement of undergraduates along one or more of the following dimensions:

(a) learning through inquiry, experimentation, and discovery;

(b) heightened awareness and appreciation of cultural diversity and the importance of global contexts, or

(c) active participation in experiential learning and community partnerships.

Nomination (due December 1st)

To submit a nomination, please send a letter of support which specifically addresses each of the two qualifications mentioned above, and the nominee's current curriculum vita to the Center for Teaching Excellence at either cte@MiamiOH.edu or CTE, 317 Laws Hall, 551 E. High St., Oxford, OH 45056.

Finalists for the Distinguished Teaching Award are asked to provide the names of two to five Miami students, faculty, staff, administrators, or alumni who could provide an additional recommendation. The chair of the CTE Committee solicits letters from the recommenders, one of which must be from a student. In addition, the CTE Committee will request a written reflection from the finalist that addresses the nomination criteria. The winners are announced during the spring awards celebration.

Past winners of the Knox Teaching Award or the Distinguished Teaching Award are not eligible for the teaching award for 10 years from the Knox or DTA award date.