Distinguished Service Award

Mike Curme and Sue Sepela

The Distinguished Service Award is one of the most significant recognition that Miami has to offer for employees who have made a significant impact on the life and mission of Miami University.

Selection Criteria

Nominees for this award must meet the following criteria:

  • Current member of Miami's faculty, classified/unclassified staff, or administration; or a retiree of no longer than three (3) years
  • Record of service that has made a significant impact on the life and mission of Miami University
  • Recognition across a large community at Miami for service to students, a specific department, school, or campus, or to the University as a whole
  • Length, scope and diversity of service contributions.


Ordinarily, the nominee should have at least twelve (12) years of service to Miami University. Consideration for this award also requires a minimum of two letters of nomination from people representing at least two distinct University constituencies (e.g., departments, divisions, student organizations, staff organizations). These letters should convey the various positions the candidate has held or tasks in which the candidate has participated. The letters should also describe in detail ways in which this individual has made a significant and diverse contributions to a broad community at Miami University.

The call for nominations for the Distinguished Service Award is issued every other year (years beginning with odd numbers: 2023-2024, 2025-2026 etc.), alternating with the University Distinguished Professor Award. It is presented to no more than two recipients.

The next award will be given in 2023-2024. Nomination materials for 2024 should be sent on or before Nov. 1, 2023 to awards@miamioh.edu

Selection Process

The Awards and Recognition Committee, an advisory committee of University Senate, reviews the nominations and makes recommendations to the University president, who makes the final selection.


Award recipients will be recognized at a major awards reception hosted by the President and Provost typically in March.