Skip to Main Content

Accreditation Committees

Accreditation and Planning Council Membership

  • Carolyn Haynes, Senior Associate Provost
  • Cristina Alcalde, Vice President, Transformational and Inclusive Excellence
  • Donna Amrhein, Director, Business Services, IT Services
  • Amy Bergerson, Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
  • Jennifer Blue, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Science
  • Tim Cameron, Associate Dean, College of Engineering and Computing 
  • Lindsay Carpenter, Associate Vice President for Budget and Analytics
  • David Ellis, Associate Vice President, Finance and Business Services
  • Gwen Fears, Assistant Vice President, Student Life
  • Julia Guichard, Interim Associate Dean, College of Creative Arts
  • Kevin Messner, Associate Librarian
  • Padma Patil, Associate Vice President, Institutional Research and Effectiveness
  • Sherrill Sellers, Associate Dean, College of Education, Health, and Society
  • Liza Skryzhevska, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Applied Science

The council consults with the University Assessment Fellows Committee on all matters relating to the assessment of student learning outcomes. 

University Assessment Fellows Committee

In addition to providing advice on assessment-related criteria for the Reaccreditation process, the University Assessment Fellows Committee provides support for divisional and departmental leaders of assessment and promotes a culture of assessment of student learning outcomes at Miami University in which data are used to improve the quality of the educational experience.  Toward that end, the committee:

  • Provides resources and guidance to all divisions and departments on assessment of student learning outcomes.
  • Advises on policies, procedures, faculty development efforts, and best practices relating to assessment of student learning outcomes.
  • Annually collects assessment reports from departments and programs, including academic support units.
  • Reviews the effectiveness of plans and practices for assessing student learning at the University, department, and program levels.
  • Communicates to Miami faculty and staff about assessment of student learning.
  • Assists divisional leaders and committees in supporting departmental assessment activity and evaluating assessment plans and reports effectively.
  • Assists with other initiatives involved in the assessment of student learning as requested by the Provost.

2023-2024 Members:

  • Carolyn Haynes, Chair and Senior Associate Provost
  • Ron Bulanda, Associate Professor, Sociology and Gerontology
  • Jennifer Blue, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Science
  • Karen Davis, Associate Professor, Computer Science 
  • Elizabeth Kerr, Coordinator of Strategy, Assessment, and DEI, University Libraries
  • Barbara Oswald, Associate Professor, Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Gina Parker, Director of Assessment and Evaluation, College of Education, Health, and Society
  • Beth Rimer, Co-Director, Ohio Writing Project
  • Ling Shao, Assistant Teaching Professor, Economics