SEAL Awards

Student Organizations at Miami University provide many key activities, events, and experiences that make the Miami experience the best undergraduate experience in the nation. The Student Engagement and Leadership (SEAL) Celebration is a recognition ceremony recognizing the dedication and hard work of various student organizations, as well as members and advisors of student organizations each year.

The ceremony is typically held mid to late April in the Armstrong Student Center. This year's awards were presented on April 26, 2023.

The winners for the year are: 

Student Activities

Innovative Event of the Year

    • Engineers Without Borders, Innvovation Day

Gerald Yearwood Diversity Programming Award

    • Asian American Association, Asian Cultural Festival

Unity Event of the Year

    • HAWKS Peer Health Educators and Miami Athletics, I Step Up: Bystander Intervention: A Talk with Kyle Richard

Recurring Event of the Year

    • The Indian Student Association, Diwali 2022

Philanthropic/Service Event of the Year

    • Engineers Without Borders, Rwanda Water Pipeline Implementation Trip

Best Media

    • Treblemakers Acapella, Dream On Video Single

Best Poster/Flyer

    • Miami University Fashion and Design, Oasis Fashion Show Flyer

Best Social Media Campaign

    • Miami University Student Foundation, Joining the Legacy  

Rising Leader of the Year

    • Mónnica Gay, Unidos, DAC, Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc.

President of the Year

    • Preston Krzyzak, College Mentors for Kids

Most Improved Organization

    • Stage Left

Most Resilient Organization

    • Society of Women Engineers

Outstanding New Organization

    • Cinci Smiles

Outstanding Graduate Advisor

    • Reena Murphy, RedHawks Count and Lucy Trevino Alañis, UNIDOS

Dr. John Clover Outstanding Off-Campus Advisor

    • Pat Lindsay, Pi Sigma Epsilon

Dr. Richard Nault Advisor of the Year

    • Jeffrey Wanko, Stage Left

Student Leader of the Year

    • Nathan Ashbrook, Engineers Without Borders
    • Sydney Kent-Strong, EcoReps

Organization of the Year

    • Best Buddies

Event of the Year

    • Miami University Fashion and Design, Annual Fashion Show: Oasis
    • Miami Activities and Programming, Electric Root Festival

Fraternity and Sorority Life

Rising Leader of the Year

  • IFC: Aidan Scott, Delta Chi
  • MGC: Oscar Campos Ortiz, Alpha Psi Lambda National, Inc.
  • NPHC: Marcus Jordan, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. and Giade Ensley, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Panhellenic: Claire Ogden, Alpha Delta Pi

Warren T. Nelson Award for Outstanding Service

  • Taha Sharaf, Delta Chi

Chapter President of the Year

  • IFC: Josh Akum, Alpha Epsilon Pi
  • MGC: Bianca Colón, Alpha Psi Lambda National, Inc.
  • NPHC: Mackenzie Lee, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
  • Panhellenic: Caroline Geist, Zeta Tau Alpha

Dr. Richard Nault Scholarship

  • Rylie Hildebrand, Phi Sigma Sigma
  • Taha Sharaf, Delta Chi

Grace Daniels Outstanding Sorority Advisor of the Year

  • Emily Wolfzorn, Alpha Omicron Pi

Brian Breittholz Fraternity Advisor of the Year

  • Michael Raymond, Lambda Chi Alpha

Jerry Miller Outstanding Fraternity Faculty/Staff Advisor Award

  • Dr. Timothy Cameron, Beta Theta Pi

B. Derrell Hart Most Improved Chapter Award

  • IFC: Alpha Epsilon Pi
  • MGC: Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc.
  • NPHC: Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
  • Panhellenic: Delta Delta Delta

Andrew Herman Memorial Chapter Excellence

  • IFC: Delta Chi
  • MGC: Alpha Psi Lambda National, Inc.
  • NPHC: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
  • Panhellenic: Chi Omega

Phillip and Martha Shriver Outstanding Greek Man & Woman

  • Outstanding Man: John Michael Dancy, Sigma Chi
  • Outstanding Woman: MacKenzie Lee, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Council Leaders of the Year

  • IFC: Sam Belkowitz, Alpha Epsilon Pi
  • MGC: Sevara Ubaydullaeva, Theta Nu Xi Multicultural Sorority, Inc.
  • NPHC: Katie Ervin, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. 
  • Panhellenic: Deisi Kazizi, Alpha Chi Omega 

Wilks Institute for Leaderhip and Service

Wilks Institute Leadership and Service Award

Yaereem Lee

Wilks Institute Civic Responsibility Award

Mollie Duffy

Harry T. Wilks Fraternity and Sorority MPACT Award

Kappa Kappa Psi

Harry T. Wilks Student Organization MPACT Award 

Engineers Without Borders

Wilks Institute Socially Responsible Leader Award 

Jules Jefferson

Wilks Institute Servant Leader Award 

Annabel Dechant

Sustainability Awards

Social Sustainability

Green Gamers, Spectrum and League of Geeks

Economic Sustainability

Ian Murphy, Geography and Planning Society

Environmental Sustainability

Lauren McCann, Ecoreps

Red Brick Reward Recognition

Best Buddies


Dance Theatre


League of Geeks

Miami Chemical Society


Miami University Fashion and Design

HAWKS Peer Health Educators

Phi Delta Epsilon

Student Academy of Nutrition and Deitetics

Warriors of Tomorrow

Stage Left

Vision Dance Company