Skip to Main Content

University Governance

Miami University is governed by three distinct, but related, bodies that all make decisions to advance Miami's mission and values.

University Senate

The University Senate is the primary governance body where students, faculty, staff, and administrators debate university issues and reach conclusions on the policies and actions to be taken by the institution.

Faculty Assembly

Faculty Assembly is composed of all members of the faculty who hold a tenured or tenure-track position; all librarians who hold the rank of Assistant Librarian, Associate Librarian, or Principal Librarian; and Teaching, Clinical Professors and Lecturers (TCPLs). Meetings are typically held twice per academic year.